Odds and ends . . .

. . . though I believe on the other side of the Atlantic, it’s odds and sods. After an incredibly busy fortnight which included a lot of FOSS and non-FOSS (as in “life”) occurrences, it’s time to get back on track here.

CrunchBang in the Pew: Several years ago, Don Parris wrote a book called, “Penguin in the Pew,” which is a book aimed at churches (though it could be for any nonprofit as well) and how they can use GNU/Linux to help save money and, of course, because it’s the moral and ethical thing to do. Don and I have been in contact over the years, mostly around his book, and yesterday morning he posted on Facebook this tidbit: “My first foray into virtual machines – running a live session of CrunchBang Linux in VirtualBox. Very cool indeed!” He went on to say later in the comments about CrunchBang: “I do like it. It’s very clean and simple. Or sparse, depending on your viewpoint. But it’s certainly well done.” Of course, we went on to blame me for suggesting he use it, but that’s another story for another time.

But wait, there’s more: Today, Don writes this. “Running CrunchBang and OpenSUSE Linux in VirtualBox on a laptop running Kubuntu Linux. For my non-computing friends, let’s just say this saves me having to buy more computers – I can run my own virtual enterprise right here at home! And yes, I could (if I had $200-$300 to spare) install Windows as well.”

Linux Fest Northwest: I’m still tying up the loose ends on the CrunchBang booth at Linux Fest Northwest. Currently, the personal debate is around whether to bring a CD/DVD burning machine (a small one) up with me or to burn all the media here at home — slated for 100 or so CDs (more, maybe?) and do the “loaves and fishes” trick with the laptop should we run out. That trick, which was invented in the Fedora booth at OSCON 2009 (or maybe 2008?), where we had run out of media and had folks either give us a blank CD or a USB stick.

I have an intro to CrunchBang talk slated, though I don’t know when that will be yet. Linux Fest Northwest is in Bellingham, Washington, USA, on the last weekend in April. If anyone is in the area and wants to volunteer for the booth — free admission is included for the volunteers — e-mail me at lcafiero-at-lavabit-dot-com.

(Larry Cafiero is one of the founders of the Lindependence Project and has just started developing software at Redwood Digital Research, a consultancy that provides FOSS solutions in the small business and home office environment.)

Crunchbang Add to Technorati Favorites EFF Binary Freedom Wordpress button dbEntrance button Scribus Conky LibreOffice PostgreSQL identi.ca python scale 10x

Leave a Reply

