A brief, albeit funny, exchange

After I dropped my daughter off yesterday for her chemistry class, I do what I normally do to kill the two hours until I pick her up again — go to the Firefly Cafe in Santa Cruz and have a cup of coffee in the biggest mug they have and catch up on work.

While at Firefly, I sat at a table across from a guy who I had not seen before, who had a laptop with a Creative Commons sticker on it. While I unpacked my Targus backpack we talked about what we were running on our laptops. Ubuntu, he said.

I reached into my backpack and as he said, “What about you?” The ThinkPad T30 that has been the mainstay of my computing experience for the last several years slipped out of my hand and, fumbling to catch it unsuccessfully, it went thunk on the floor.

Picking it up, I said, “CrunchBang.”

Hilarity ensued.

The laptop is fine, the coffee was good, and my daughter didn’t blow up anything in class. So overall it was a successful few hours.

(Larry Cafiero is one of the founders of the Lindependence Project and has just started developing software at Redwood Digital Research, a consultancy that provides FOSS solutions in the small business and home office environment.)

Crunchbang Add to Technorati Favorites EFF Binary Freedom Wordpress button dbEntrance button Scribus Conky LibreOffice PostgreSQL identi.ca python scale 10x